Uncategorized

Kahlua Brownie Souffle

A food post! 😀

Finally!

As much fun as I have had with my natural/healthy beauty posts, I mustn’t forget about my love of food. Ahh... Food… Italian. Mexican. German. American. Japanese. Chinese. I love it all ❤  But for now, I’m just going to talk about dessert, which is obviously the most important part of any meal. 😉

Today’s post is all about Chocolate. And alcohol. Combined. Omg, right? .. Whoever came up with the idea first to combine chocolate and alcohol, I’d like to raise a toast to you.

So, I wish I could take credit for this amazing recipe, but I can’t… I actually found it on another blog instead of an actual recipe website. (dyingforchocolate.blogspot.com to be exact).  I found this recipe in an attempt to satisfy my sweet tooth at my sisters’ house, which happens almost every time I visit her. Lol. On this particular evening I wanted to incorporate BOTH chocolate and alcohol into my dessert of choice. I think it was a smart move. 😉

In the words of Barney Stinson “Self-five.” *clap

I promise, this will be a recipe you’ll want to write down and keep in a safe place.

>> Happy Baking! <<

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup cocoa, unsweetened
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2/3 cup melted butter, divided
  • 1/4 cup boiling water
  • 1/4 cup Kahlua
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts or pecans. (*I did not add walnuts/pecans when I first made this dish, but I will probably add chocolate chips in the future)

Directions:

In a large bowl, combine cocoa and baking soda; blend in 1/3 cup melted butter. Add boiling water and Kahlua; stir until well blended. Stir in sugar, vanilla, beaten eggs and remaining 1/3 cup butter. Stir in flour and salt. (*Optional: Stir nuts/chocolate chips into chocolate brownie batter.)

After you have mixed all ingredients together, Pour chocolate brownie batter into a greased, ‘deep dish’ souffle cup. This recipe is enough for 2 souffle cups. You are welcomed to pour the batter into a 13x9x2 -inch baking pan if you don’t own a souffle cup.

Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes in baking pan. For a brownie souffle, it will take longer to bake. You can start out with setting your timer to 40 minutes or so, but after that,  you will need to watch the souffles carefully so they don’t overcook. I like them to be semi crunchy on the outside and very gooey on the inside. I would say 45 minutes to an hour would be enough time. It all depends on your own personal oven and how you like the texture of your brownies to be. But definitely watch them once 40 minutes has gone by. You can determine if it’s finished cooking by sticking a toothpick or butter knife directly in the center of the brownie. It’s okay if the toothpick or butter knife doesn’t come out completely clean.

That’s it!

This dessert is great when topped off with vanilla ice cream and/or whipped cream.  🙂 🙂

Enjoy!

brownie souffle

image courtesy of Pinterest.

xo,

manda

\

Standard

Leave a Reply

